Healthy cookies, brownies and such…

The 5 day Jin Shin Jyutsu class with Nathalie Max here in Sweden is coming up soon, in the end of this month – I usually bake healthy things that we can eat in the breaks when we have JSJ classes here, and this time is no exception, I am in the process of baking now 🙂

Since I don’t use gluten/wheat or dairy products anymore, and try to use as little sugar as possible, I have to improvise and to be creative, and try new things – I have baked some buns with teff as the base flour, and then I used stevia instead of sugar, added bananas and raisins in one of the doughs, and pear in the other. And cinnamon and ginger, and a little bit of “this and that”, what I feel like…

But I have wanted to try one recipe for some time now, a kind of brownie, based on black beans and dates, so that’s what I baked yesterday – it turned out really nice, you can’t tell that it’s black beans as the main ingredients 🙂
Here’s the recipe I found:

2 cups cooked black beans (I soaked the beans for 24 hours first, then cooked them for a little more than one hour)
15 dates
2 tbsp raw almond butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup natural, non-alkalized cocoa powder
1 tbsp ground chia seeds
Preheat oven to 200°F. Blend the black beans, dates, almond butter and vanilla in a food processor or high powered blender until smooth.

Add the cocoa powder, and chia seeds and blend again. Pour into a very lightly oiled 8×8-inch baking pan and bake for 1 1/2 hours.

Cool completely before cutting into small squares. Top with raspberries or other berries.

Banana Treat:
Blend bananas, blueberries, and walnuts in a high speed blender. Pair the banana treat with the warm brownies and enjoy!

Recipe courtesy of Dr. Joel Fuhrman.

I added a few tbsp coconut oil, 2 eggs, and some cacao nibs as well – next time I’ll add some chopped nuts too, and you have to watch out for the time in the oven, I didn’t use more than 1 hour… anyway, it turned out really nice, I think I will have to make some more – the class is not happening until next week, hope there’s enough brownies left for the class 🙂

Here’s a video:

I didn’t use sugar, which they do in the video, I used dates instead. I don’t use baking powder either, it works fine anyway. And they use flaxseed in the video instead of eggs, to make a vegan version.

 

 

Leave a Reply

