Traveling in the US

I have been out traveling for a while, first I went to the Jin Shin Jyutsu organizers yearly meeting, this time it was happening in the south of Germany, hosted by Mona Harris – I wrote about it in another post:
https://jinshinjyutsuheleneiliste.wordpress.com/2015/07/16/jin-shin-jyutsu-organizers-meeting-in-seebruck-germany-june-2015/

Then I was flying straight on to Los Angeles to participate in a class with Wayne Hackett:
https://jinshinjyutsuheleneiliste.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/wayne-hackett-in-los-angeles-jin-shin-jyutsu-class-june-2015/
but I had some free days in LA before the class started, so among other things I was checking out where to get healthy food  – if you have been following my blog you know that I am really into healthy food 🙂
I usually try to find the Whole Foods Stores, and Trader Joe’s where I am, so I can find healthy stuff – there was a Trader Joe’s just two blocks from my hotel, and a Whole Food a few blocks from the venue, and I found a raw food place which was really good, at Main Street:
http://rawvolution.com
a
nd also a nice restaurant in Santa Monica Place, where the class was taking place:
http://www.truefoodkitchen.com
True Food Kitchen has several restaurants in the US, among other cities there’s one in Scottsdale, a good choice if you visit there 🙂

Then after the class was finished I went to San Francisco to visit friends – we were cooking a lot of course, and one thing that has become a favorite very fast is black bean brownies – there are several recipes out there, but it could look something like this:

(15 1/2 ounce) can black beans(rinsed and drained)
egg
3 tablespoons oil
4 tablespoons  cocoa powder
1 pinch  salt
1 teaspoon  vanilla
3⁄4cup  sugar

I use raw black beans instead, soaking them for 24 hours first, and then cooking them myself.. and I use 10-15 dates instead of sugar, works really well – you don’t need sugar.. and I use coconut oil.
I also put in a little extra things, like nuts, raw cocoa nibs – I am getting creative about that 🙂
Then put it in the oven:
Bake at 350 F (200 C) for approximately 30 minutes.

Then it was time to go to New York City, my last stop in this journey – I met the lovely ladies Susan Scanga and Carrie Strauch, the Jin Shin Jyutsu organizers in NYC, and had a very nice dinner with them, we had indian food at a restaurant close to where Carrie lives.
I also explored some other restaurants 🙂
Quintessence: http://www.raw-q.com
Candle 79: http://www.candle79.com
The food was very delicious, I can really recommend those restaurants!

And here are some photos from San Francisco and NYC:

P1060227P1060126P1060100P1060075P1060074P1060073P1060370P1060332P1060353P1060239

Leave a Reply

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
